Tough Mudder III

This weekend I finally got my OCR season underway down in Henley-upon-Thames!

Volunteered as usual on the Saturday after a late-ish arrival on the Friday night, chose to go on the new obstacle Augustus Gloop/Snot Rocket which I thought would be a good idea (it wasn’t – I got piss wet through, and therefore grumpy, but I did meet Jade Jones the Olympic gold medalist!!!) with my lovely friends Dan, Mike and Mike, and make a new friend in Gary so that was a bonus, and it gave me an idea of the course for my run Sunday.

Woke up Sunday morning and REALLY didn’t want to run but after a verbal arse-kick from the lovely Miranda I was ready to roll! Got into the first wave with my volunteer wristband and had to take my signature pose in the start pen of course…


Ran with Mike for the first time, took it fairly easy as he was quite wheezy at points – I reckon a mix of hay fever and the sheer amount of dust that was on the course was to blame.

The course itself was hill as feck – not very muddy compared to the likes of North West, but I did like all the lovely views from up the hills and the obstacles were nicely spread apart 🙂

Mud Mile was more of a mud stomp – the pits were only mid calf deep and the mounds were easily climbed so the usual muddy photos didn’t quite occur but still got some good ones!


I managed to do Snot Rocket (the Legionnaires version of Gloop) which meant I had to duck my head under water briefly – something I hate doing but I challenged myself to do it and I’m so glad I did – it’s a good obstacle to run through just not to be on as an MVP haha.

We picked up Gary en route and ran with him from around Hold Your Wood onwards so it was nice to run with two people I hadn’t run with before 🙂

We finished the course in a decent time, I only bypassed Arctic Enema, Kong and Shawshanked, I tried Hero Walls but couldn’t do it, swam through Funky Monkey, and tried 20 or so times to get up Everest and then gave up after some idiot ignored me on my last attempt to climb up.

All in all I had a fabulous weekend, made all the more fun by being surrounded by my Mudder family – now roll on Saturday/Sunday for TM Midlands Half and ETM!


Big muddy love, 

C x
Ps – if you want to sponsor me/help me raise money for the National Autistic Society any and all donations are greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

